fresh waffles made @home

Finding ways to ease my life and reduce my getting ready to work time to close to 50 minutes without skipping breakfast is an everyday challenge.   Having tried various breakfast options from cereal to toast to bagel and waffles, unable to decide whether to settle with something store-bought or do it at home which will be healthy and nutritious, if you have a little more time.  I love the whole wheat waffles,  I could eat it for a quick snack with a cup of coffee, breakfast or a substitute for a simple dinner topped with  some fruits.  So I decided to buy a waffle maker, I really get the urge to just get up and accomplish things especially on a busy tired weekday evening or when a big winter-storm is on the way.  So one fine tuesday evening, when the weather was blessing me with almost cherry sized balls of snow hitting my windshield, I decided to buy a Waffle maker.

The next morning I made 2 waffles but I ate just one as it was really filling with just one.   I used the below to make 5 waffles:

Mix up a dry stuff with 1 1/2 cup of Whole wheat flour + 1/2 tbsp of baking powder + 1/2 tsp of salt + 2 tbsp of sugar

Mix up the wet stuff with 1 tsp of vanilla + 1 egg + 1 cup of milk + 1/4 cup of vegetable cooking oil.

Slowly pour the liquids into the dry stuff and mix well with no lumps.

thinking about it…

Overall the waffle wasn’t bad, I used setting 3 in my waffle maker. I think I should  have added 2 eggs, the waffle wasn’t so fluffy it was a bit dry and floury.

Later I looked for recipe in Tammy’s blog and found the Recipe for the Best Waffle Batter.  This is the recipe that I am going to use for my next batch.

delightful variations…

I am going to use equal amounts of flour: milk and reduce the oil and substitute eggs with egg-whites.  And serve them with some whipped cream and fruits or mix banana to the waffle mix.   You never know what a small addition to the usual will give you the perfect taste.

you can freeze them too…

Make an entire batch of 10-12 waffles and freeze them in freezer bags with wax paper for the week.

  1. #1 by cakeandmittens on February 2, 2011 - 01:33

    Yum, waffles are my favorite! I’ve never made them with whole wheat flour but that’s a good idea. Probably makes them a lot healthier.

Leave a Reply

